Facchine Elected President

February 14, 2004 at 2:36 PM

       Evo Facchine was elected to a two-year term as president of the DuBois Area Historical Society at the organization’s February meeting. Facchine moved into the president’s position in 2003 to complete an unexpired term.

       One other officer, five directors, and three area representatives were also elected at the meeting. All will serve two-year terms.

       Judy Leech was elected to a second term as first vice president. Incumbent directors re-elected were Todd Thompson, historian; Tammy Nelson, director of youth; and Emma Miller, assistant genealogist. Joining the board for the first time were Dave Beer, director of buildings and grounds; and Kristin Clinton, assistant librarian.

        Incumbent area representatives reelected were Judy Dixon, Reynoldsville/Rathmel/Sandy Valley; Jean Hayes, Luthersburg/Troutville/Bloom Township; and Forest Brubaker, Rockton/Home Camp/Union Township.

        At the DuBois Area Historical Society’s March executive council meeting three other positions were filled through executive council appointment. All three positions were vacant due to resignations and had one year left in the term.

         Added to the executive council at the meeting were:  Paul Ramsey, second vice president; Vincent Bonfardine, assistant building and grounds director; Mona Cramer, area representative for Sykesville/Big Soldier/Springville; and Irene Poinelli, area representative for Penfield/Hollywood/Houston Township.

        The remainder of the executive council includes:  Nellie Beer, treasurer; Tom Schott, secretary; E.D. Reitz, immediate past president; Audrey Lott, director of genealogy; Beecher Klingensmith, curator; Virginia Schott, librarian; Linda Dixon, area representative for Reynoldsville and Sandy Valley; Robert DuBois, area representative for Treasure Lake/DuBois/Sandy Township; and Kenneth Wiser, areas representative for Falls Creek/Smithtown/Singing Hills.

        The DuBois Area Historical Society, now in its 21st year, promotes the study, preservation, and appreciation of history. The area normally served is that area within the boundaries of the DuBois Area School District.

         A variety of individual memberships are available including life, $100; family, $15; single adult, $10; student 18 and over, $5; student up to 18, $2; and senior citizen, $5. Members may gain the designation of member/donor by including a special contribution of $6 or more along with their membership fee. Checks should be made payable to the DuBois Area Historical Society and mailed to P.O. Box 401, DuBois, Pa. 15801. Include name, address, and phone number with all memberships.

         Upcoming speakers include:  March 16, Sue Raspatello, “The History of the Red Hat Society”; April 21, Tom Schott,  “The Washington, D.C., World War II Memorial, A Personnel Connection; and May 26, Galen Kilmer, “DuBois Area High School Local History Projects.”  All of these programs begin at 7:30 p.m. in the E.D. Reitz Museum and are free and open to the public.

Category: News